Friends of the

John A. Wilkinson





John A. Wilkinson High School

1937 - 1989


  • Goal:

"Seeking the Preservation and Utilization of the Historic John A. Wilkinson High School Building for the Benefit of the Greater Belhaven Community."


P. O. Box 38

Belhaven, NC 27810

(252) 943 .2255



caused the Belhaven Schools to be closed and plans for a new school outside the flood plain arose, an effort within the community began to try to save the John A. Wilkinson High School building via the National Historic Registry. It was accepted into nomination on Jan.12th, 1998, and this has saved the structure temporarily. The Friends began to form in mid-1998, organized in the fall, and were incorporated on Nov. 17th. They became a member of the National Trust for Historic Preservation in Jan. 1999. The non-profit Friends have the singular goal of preserving and rehabilitating the John A. Wilkinson building for the use of the entire community. The Friends, with your help, will be able to save this historic structure. Possible tenants include the Museum, Senior Center, Wellness Center, BCCC classes and more. The auditorium will serve for meetings, concerts, reunions, dinners, conventions and parties. The Friends have a total time-frame of one year to plan, raise funds, and begin rehabilitation. If not successful in this effort FEMA will have the building torn down. On the other hand, if the Friends meet all necessary requirements, then FEMA will give $100,283.00 towards the preservation effort.


was built in 1937-1938 by the Public Works Administration. Six other schools in Beaufort County were also constructed by the PWA in the late 1930s. The building was called the Belhaven High School until the mid-1940s, when it was renamed to honor one of Belhaven’s first and leading citizens, John Aaron Wilkinson.

The high school itself has seen fifty-one graduating classes from 1938 to 1989. The class of 1938 held their graduation in the newly constructed auditorium in the spring of 1938. The building was used as a junior high from 1989 to 1997. The number of high school graduates is estimated to be 2, 528.

The Friends effort is a community one. Neither the new schools nor Belhaven will lose one cent because of the preservation work. And, FEMA will remove the structure at no cost should the project fail.

Contributions and pledges are being accepted to preserve and restore this building. Become a Friend today and help the community keep this building for tomorrow—and always.

How you can help.

Time is very important ! Please send us you ideas, comments and suggestions about the John A. Wilkinson Preservation Project.


Please note class year_______.








Please make checks payable to:

Friends of the John A. Wilkinson Building Inc.

Contributions are tax deductible.



O.E.Burbage, Jr.

Chauncey Calfee

Jimmy Calfee

Paul W. Dawson

Thelma J. Dawson

Bea L. Dillon

Dorothy C. Easry

Clarence Davis

Charles Ray Davis

Leslie Griffin

Ed L. Harris Sr.

Marti Hollowell

Sharon L. Jones

2nd Lt. Laurin

S. Knight

Eliza J. Lupton

H.V. Latham Sr.

Ziegler Latham

Emma Dean Lockwood

Doris A. Lupton

Ruth B. Midyette

Linville Midgette

Robert C. Marriner

Julius & Sophronia

T. Purvis

Ann Jordan Trippe

Cora B. Whisnant



Col. Robert W. Allen

James R. Balance

Leigh & Dean Armstrong

Caddie D. Burney

Claudia T. Baker

Wilbur Brinn

Pete & Pauline Brooks

Ona Mae Brooks

Louise E. Brinn

Cora & Lee Bond

C.O. Boyette

David Bowers

Lucretia Burbage

Doris H. Cutrell

Patience Credle

Belhaven Cable TV

Jimmie & Gussie Calfee

Myrtle P. Carowan

Cooperative Bank

Mary Costulis

David L. Cox

Mamie J. Cox

Dr.&Mrs. Larry D. Cooper

Elizabeth S. Coston

Alice Craddock

Lucy Crosby

Mandy Cutler

Ellis Cutrell

John Cutrell

Starlon Credle

Frances T. Crigger

Mr. & Ms. Coniston Cuthrell

Jill & Johnny Cutrell

Archie Daniels

M. J. Daniels

Sylvia H. Davis

Marion & Jane Dilday

Ed & Iva Eldridge

Edna E. Equils

Mable Everett

James & Sandra Everette

 Grover L. Dunn

George R. Eborn Jr.

Thelma H. Foster

Patricia S. Fischel

Ronnie E. Gibbs

April Featherstone

Christy & Troy Ferguson

Julian Goff

Tom & Martha Holland

Amy Harris

 Cyndy & Tony Harris

Aubrey & Mary

Evelyn Hollowell

Dorothy B. Humes

Alonzo B. Jarman

Odessa & Harry

Jarvis John Jones

Anne & Thomas Keech

Ronnie Keech

Sherry Keech

Rennie F. Killingsworth

E. Dean C. Lockwood

Charles & Ann Latham

Chuck Latham

S.D. Latham

Linda Liverman

Floyd Lupton

J.H. Lupton

T. Deering Manning

Meredith E. McArthur

Howard W. Muir

Audrey & Linville Midyette

Patricia D. McKenzie

Gladys F. Minach

Katheryn Lyon

Sarah W. Moore

Delores H. Morgan

Donna & Ralph Pomeroy

Sandra Myers

Hilda F. Napier

Warren Powell

Deborah & Joseph Perry

James R. & Edith B. Rice

Lossie Nixon

Jan & Conrad Paysour

Ponzer Ruritan

Joseph H. Peele

Gene Purvis

Jule Purvis

Barbara Pugh

Kim Quidley

 H. L. Haburn

Marjorie Ratcliffe

Phillip G. Radcliffe

          Raynor Firm

          Lucy B. Robbins

          Peggy & Heber Rose

          Madge & G.D.Ross

          Doris R. Robbins

Jackie W. Robbins

Ann L. Rouse

Cherry & Randy Rouse

Annie D. Rhodes

          Annie D. Rhodes

          SCV Camp #1695

          Lisa Sawyer

          Jonathan Sawyer

          Neal W. Seegars

          Ray Sparrow

          Lorna & Billy Sheppard

Norfleet N. Smith

Elva & Cecil Smith

Laura K. Smith

Charles & Porgie Selby

Louise P. Stottesberry

          Susan & Roddy Selby

          Susan & Harold Smith

          Howell & Jackie Sparrow

          H. Duane Tolan

          Rudolph Thompson

          Thistle Dew Inn

          John G. Tooly

          Natalie Topping

         Tri-County Tel.

          Dwight B. Trippe

Brenda Van gyzen

Barbara S. Voliva

Lyndell M. Wahab

 Mary Wahab

Rose J. Ware

Connie & Walter Watson

Joyce & Jesse Whitley

John A. Wilkinson

Woodstock Realty

A.R. Jack Windley


David Worth

Jean & Mark Woolard

Sharon G. Woolard

Kenneth W. Wilkinson

S.R. Wilkinson



This site sponsored by
Beaufort County's "Original" Virtual Community 

Diane Mason,Webmaster